Purchase Game

Bravely Second: End Layer

Purchase on Amazon

The World Map

Vincent Lau

Everything starts with the first step.

Like in many other great RPGs, the world map serves as one gigantic location where you can access every other location in the game. Here, you can traverse the world on foot, although you’re restricted to plains, forests and other similarly flat landscapes.

As you travel, you’ll occasionally be beset by the local wildlife (or imperial invaders) in the form of the infamous random battles . When this happens, you’ll switch over to battle mode, where you must defeat all the on-screen enemies to progress (or you could try to run away).

Getting Places

Located at various points on the world map are many landmarks that you can visit, such as towns and dungeons. These places appear as an orange circle on the bottom screen world map and it’s usually very obvious if you can visit them or not.

Additionally, so you don’t get lost, your next destination is always highlighted by an orange exclamation mark on the bottom screen. Meanwhile sidequests appear as blue exclamation marks . So long as you use the map well, it should be easy to get where you want, unlike a certain Pope…

Map Menu

Whenever you’re on the map–whether it’s the world map, a town or dungeon–you can access the handy Map Menu by tapping the left-most icon on the bottom screen or pressing Right on the D-Pad. We’ll mention it here since there are more options available on the world map.

In particular, you can access the Save menu at any time by selecting the feather pen icon at the very top. If you access it on the world map, the Save and Update Data options will be available–whereas they’ll be greyed out if you’re in a town or dungeon.

Passage of Time

As you dawdle on the world map, the time of day will eventually change from day to night and back to day. Besides the obvious visual (and audial) change between day and night, the enemies you encounter may change depending on the time of day.

For example, when it’s night time, undead-type monsters will be on the prowl, while certain day-time monsters will be absent because they’re asleep. By the way, the day and night cycle also affects town and cities–inns and shops will still be open at night, but the atmosphere is very different.


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Nintendo, Square Enix
  • Platforms,
  • Genre
  • Guide Release
    14 April 2016
  • Last Updated
    29 January 2021
    Version History
  • Guide Author
    Vincent Lau

Share this free guide:

Two years after the Heroes of Light calmed the Four Crystals, Luxendarc is at peace. Agnes Oblige is now Pope of the Crystal Orthodoxy, working with the Duchy of Eternia to maintain peace and prosperity in the land.

But there are those who do not wish for peace. The Glanz Empire and its leader Kaiser Oblivion kidnap Pope Agnes despite the efforts of her protector Yew Geneolgia and set out to conquer Eternia. Yew survived the attack and wakes up a week later, determined to rescue his beloved Pope Agnes and stop the advancing Empire once and for all. And so your journey begins…

Our guide is filled with a plethora of information to help you on your journey through Luxendarc including:

  • Complete start-to-finish walkthrough of the main quest.
  • Full coverage of the Barter Sub-Scenario System and how to obtain new asterisks.
  • Every other side quest explained in full.
  • A full examination of the job system and use of the new additions to the Bravely battle system..
  • Post-game dungeons, Ba’al strategies, bosses and other content.
  • Details on the village-building mini-game centred around the reconstruction of Magnolia’s home and much more!

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: