Lara’s Survival Instinct is a vision mode that you should be using extensively throughout the game. Similar to the special ‘Detective Mode’ in the Batman: Arkham games, ‘Eagle Vision’ in Assassin’s Creed or Geralt’s ‘Witcher Sense’ in the Witcher III: Wild Hunt, Survival Instinct will highlight objects and areas of interest in the environment.

Objects of interest will be highlighted in gold and In general the following are observable with Lara’s Survival Instincts active:

  • Objective markers and waypoint markers.
  • Enemies and Animals.
  • Platforming elements in the environment such as scalable walls, tree branches, swing beams etc.
  • Plants, Mushrooms and other lootable reagent holding objects.
  • Quivers of arrows and boxes of ammunition.
  • Collectibles including: Strongboxes, Documents, Relics and Murals.

Lootable objects and objectives will be highlighted with Survival Insinct active (left). Custom waypoints will appear in blue (right).

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Square Enix
  • Platforms
    PC, PS4, XB 360, XB One
  • Genre
    Action Adventure
  • Guide Release
    17 March 2016
  • Last Updated
    7 December 2020
  • Guide Author
    Paul Williams

Share this free guide:

Rise of the Tomb Raider is a follow up to 2013’s Tomb Raider reboot and as a continuation of the story, players will once again enter the well-tread boots of Lara Croft. In an adventure spanning London, Syria and Siberia Rise of the Tomb Raider offers up a lengthy campaign filled with hordes of collectibles, numerous challenges, optional Challenge Tombs, deadly enemies and more than its fair share of puzzles.

Let us guide you through Lara’s Siberian adventure every step of the way! Our comprehensive guide will provide you with:

  • Complete walkthrough to the story from beginning to end.
  • Guides to all eight side-missions.
  • Walkthroughs to all nine optional Challenge Tombs.
  • Locations to every collectible including: Coin Caches, Documents, Murals, Relics, Strongboxes and Survival Caches.
  • Complete walkthrough to Baba Yaga: Temple of the Witch DLC add-on.
  • Achievement/trophy unlock guide.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: