Rise of the Tomb Raider’s Siberian-themed game world is broken up into 11 main regions including: Siberian Wilderness, Glacial Cavern, Soviet Installation, Abandoned Mines, Geothermal Valley, The Acropolis, The Flooded Archive, Research Base, The Orrery, Path of the Deathless and the Lost City. Players will also have access to a Syrian map during the prologue and then, once again once they have finished the game.

On the world map, areas of interest in terms of gameplay are marked with icons that reflect the type of task associated with them. These include: Diamond-shaped objective markers, green pulses indicating optional side-mission objectives, cave entrances, Challenge Tombs, the Soviet Installation Supply Shack and collectibles of every variety.

The collectible locations will appear on the world map once you have either discovered or spotted them during Lara’s travels, or by finding and picking up Archivist’s Maps and Explorer’s Satchels or deciphering Monoliths. Collectible icons include the following: Codices, Coin Caches, Documents, Monoliths, Murals, Relics, Strongboxes and Survival Caches.


During missions, with Lara’s Survival Instinct active you’ll receive objective markers that act as waypoints showing you exactly where you need to go to continue. These will also occur on the world map. From the world map screen you can also set your own custom waypoint which will appear in Survival Instinct regular gameplay. You can then follow said waypoint to any destination of your choice.

Perhaps the most useful element of this ability is that it is possible to highlight a collectible location with a custom waypoint. Using this waypoint in conjunction with Survival Instinct will lead you directly to said collectible. This is especially useful when hunting down those last few, hard to find collectibles that are not in straightforward locations.

With Survival Instinct you’ll be able to see objective markers (left). Base Camps (right) can be used to fast travel between locations.

Base Camps and Fast Travel

As with the previous Tomb Raider reboot, discovering a Base Camp will give Lara the opportunity to rest, upgrade her gear, craft new items and invest any unspent XP Skill points into Skill trees. Once discovered, you will then be able to use it as a fast travel point. As you might suspect, using fast travel will allow you to instantly select and travel to any previously discovered Base Camp on the world map. This ability is very handy for returning to previous areas in pursuit of side-missions or collectibles and significantly cuts your travel time when used as a shortcut.


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Square Enix
  • Platforms
    PC, PS4, XB 360, XB One
  • Genre
    Action Adventure
  • Guide Release
    17 March 2016
  • Last Updated
    7 December 2020
  • Guide Author
    Paul Williams

Share this free guide:

Rise of the Tomb Raider is a follow up to 2013’s Tomb Raider reboot and as a continuation of the story, players will once again enter the well-tread boots of Lara Croft. In an adventure spanning London, Syria and Siberia Rise of the Tomb Raider offers up a lengthy campaign filled with hordes of collectibles, numerous challenges, optional Challenge Tombs, deadly enemies and more than its fair share of puzzles.

Let us guide you through Lara’s Siberian adventure every step of the way! Our comprehensive guide will provide you with:

  • Complete walkthrough to the story from beginning to end.
  • Guides to all eight side-missions.
  • Walkthroughs to all nine optional Challenge Tombs.
  • Locations to every collectible including: Coin Caches, Documents, Murals, Relics, Strongboxes and Survival Caches.
  • Complete walkthrough to Baba Yaga: Temple of the Witch DLC add-on.
  • Achievement/trophy unlock guide.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: