Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title
Published Title Score Editor's Choice
Published Title Score

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

When Does Jedi Survivor Take Place?

Jacob Woodward

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor is obviously one of the most highly anticipated Star Wars titles in some time due to the success of its predecessor Fallen Order. But before you jump into the continuation of Cal’s story, understanding its place in the overall timeline is crucial for a comprehensive experience, and will probably give you more insight into various lore elements.

Below, we’ll be exploring when Jedi: Survivor takes place in the Star Wars universe, how it connects to the first game, and its relation to other notable events and series in the franchise to hopefully give you a more rounded understanding of the game, and maybe even sympathise with the tough situation Cal is in.

What Year Is Star Wars Jedi: Survivor Set?

Moving back to Fallen Order briefly, if you haven’t experienced the game for yourself, you follow the story of Cal Kestis, a young Jedi Padawan who survived Order 66 and embarks on a quest to rebuild the Jedi Order. The events of this game unfold in 14 BBY (Before the Battle of Yavin), making Jedi: Survivor a direct continuation of Cal’s journey, as players witness how the galaxy evolves and shapes the remnants of the Jedi Order.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor is set approximately five years after the events of Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, which places the game in around 19 BBY. Therefore, this timeline situates the game between the prequel and original trilogies, providing players with a fascinating backdrop that explores the rise of the Galactic Empire and the struggles of the remaining Jedi.

If you’re eagled-eyed, and have taken a look at trailers and promo material, you will have noticed that Cal certainly looks a little worse for wear at times, and is sporting some serious facial hair, all coming together to imply the small time jump that has occured.

Cal Kestis’ new look in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

When looking at the wider Star Wars picture, the timeline of Jedi: Survivor coincides with other key events and series in the universe, such as the Obi-Wan Kenobi series and Andor. The Obi-Wan Kenobi series, which also takes place in 19 BBY, follows the Jedi Master during his time in exile on Tatooine, watching over a young Luke Skywalker. Meanwhile, Andor is set around the same timeframe, focusing on the adventures of Cassian Andor, a key figure in the Rebel Alliance, before the events of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story.

Each of these showcase the decline in the Jedi Order and subsequently the creation of the Rebel Alliance, both similar themes in the Jedi games. Survivor certainly furthers this, and puts Cal in a place where he is directly fighting back against the Empire, attempting to bring a plethora of willing characters together to aid him in this journey.

No Comments
Guide Information
  • Publisher
    Electronic Arts
  • Genre
    Action Adventure
  • Guide Release
    27 April 2023
  • Last Updated
    10 May 2023
    Version History
  • Guide Author

Share this free guide:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: