Purchase Game

Devil May Cry 5

Purchase on Amazon


Jarrod Garripoli

The Devil May Cry series is known to be quite difficult, especially on harder difficulties provided in the game. When you begin Devil May Cry 5, you only have access to two difficulties, Human and Devil Hunter. Getting an ending on either of those two will unlock Son of Sparda. Playing and achieving an ending on Son of Sparda will unlock Dante Must Die, which is considered one of the more challenging difficulties in the game. If you can manage to finish the game on that difficulty, then you will unlock the final two, Heaven or Hell and Hell and Hell. The difficulties follow a strict heirarchy, which is as follows:

  • Human > Devil Hunter > Son of Sparda > Dante Must Die > Heaven or Hell > Hell and Hell

The main difference with these difficulties is the health that enemies have, as well as the damage they do to you. From Son of Sparda and onward, the missions can become a little more hectic. That’s because stronger enemies will start appearing in the lower missions. As an example, the Empusa Queen normally begins appearing in Mission 05, but on Son of Sparda and harder difficulties, you can find one even in the Prologue. Also, enemies will start becoming more aggressive and some even gain new attacks.

Some difficulties will add harder monsters in earlier levels, like the Empusa Queen in the Prologue above

The following is a table that details the differences, in terms of how much health enemies and the damage they do:

Difficulty Enemy’s Health Enemy’s Damage
Human 100% 100%
Devil Hunter 200% 200%
Son of Sparda 400% 400%
Dante Must Die 800% 800%
Heaven or Hell One-hit kill One-hit kill
Hell and Hell 400% One-hit kill


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
  • Platforms,
    PC, PS4, XB One
  • Genre
    Action Adventure, Hack-n-slash
  • Guide Release
    15 March 2019
  • Last Updated
    7 December 2020
    Version History
  • Guide Author
    Jarrod Garripoli

Share this free guide:

Devil May Cry has finally returned! The over-the-top action series from Capcom comes back with a brand new entry, where you will be able to control one of three characters, one entirely new to the franchise, to slay demons and look stylish while doing it. The demonic invasion has returned to the world of Devil May Cry, with a demonic tree taking root in Red Grave City. Armed with a robotic arm, made by a self-professed weapons expert named Nico, Nero plans on ridding the city of this demon tree.

This guide is intended to bring you through all of the main missions in the game, offering tips on the enemies you fight, how to get S-Ranks on the tougher missions and strategies for the boss fights. It will also list all of the locations for the collectibles, as well as where to find every single Secret Mission, as well as how to complete those. In addition, you will find a full trophy/achievement guide, as well as details on all of the skills and mechanics for each of the three characters you can control in the game.

  • Full walkthrough of all the main missions in the game, including changes across difficulties
  • Locations and strategies for every Secret Mission
  • Strategies on how to get S-Ranks on every mission
  • How to find every single collectible in the game
  • A list of all skills for all three characters, as well as strategies on how to use each character
  • A complete trophy/achievement guide

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: