Weapons and XP

Killing enemies with each of War’s main equipped weapons – Sword, Scythe and Gauntlet will earn the weapon used XP points. The current weapon level can be viewed on the inventory screen with the small bar next to the weapon indicating XP earned. This bar will slowly fill up as you kill enemies with the weapon in question.


Enhancements are handy little trinkets you can find lying across the game world. There are 12 of these bad boys and each has their own unique bonuses. Once acquired, you can assign one enhancement to each weapon you own, allowing you a total of three enhancements at any one time. There are 8 standard enhancements and a further 4 legendary enhancements named after the Darksiders’ version of the four horseman - Death. Fury, Strife and War.

The walkthrough below will help you acquire each and every one. For additional information about effects and specific locations, you can check out the Enhancement locations section below the main walkthrough.

Life Stones

Life Stones are essentially health bars for War. Below the main health bar, you will see green symbols. Each of these represents a Life Stone. You will be rewarded with a full Life Stones for defeating each of the five major bosses. Additional Life Stones have been broken into shards and scattered in chests throughout the world map. Four of these shards will yield an additional Life Stone. There are 16 shards in total, which when collected, will give War nine more health bars. When maxed out War has a total of 10 Life Stones (or 10 health bars).

Wrath Cores

Acquiring a wrath core enables War to increase wrath meter. Similarly to the Life Stones above, each Wrath Core has been broken into four pieces and you will find these strewn across the world map. Collecting four Wrath Shards will create a Wrath Core, which will increase the amount of wrath War can accumulate by a single bar. There are three complete wrath cores to be found, along with 20 wrath shards. Collecting all of these will net War the maximum of 10 Wrath Bars.


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
  • Platforms,
    PC, PS3, PS4, Wii U, XB 360, XB One
  • Genre
    Action Adventure
  • Guide Release
    7 March 2015
  • Last Updated
    7 December 2020
  • Guide Author
    Paul Williams

Share this free guide:

Accused of prematurely triggering the end of the world, War, the first horseman of the apocalypse is cast down to Earth, stripped of all his powers and forced to contend with the legions of heaven and hell. On an epic quest for redemption, War must confront hideous monsters, slowly re-build his power, battle huge bosses and seek help in unlikely places in order to discover and reveal those that betrayed him. Welcome to Darksiders!

Let us guide you through War’s journey every step of the way. Our comprehensive guide will provide you with:

  • Complete walkthrough from beginning to end including all collectibles and upgrades.
  • Winning strategies to take down the assortment of nasty bosses.
  • Locations of every Demonic Artefact.
  • Locations of every piece of the Abyssal Armour Set.
  • Locations of every Wrath Core and Life Stone.
  • Locations of every normal and legendary Enhancement.
  • Achievement/trophy unlock guide.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: