Purchase Game

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor

Purchase on Amazon


Nathan Garvin

Combat Abilities

Combat abilities are typically special attacks the Uruk can perform that ordinary Uruks cannot, or unusual combat prowess that makes them immune to certain manuevers and attacks.


Launches ambushes against his enemies


Your Counters are not effective


Harder to kill, and may require you to finish him

Body Slam

Picks up his opponents and throws them to the ground

Boomerang Throw

Throws weapons, which then return to him.

Charge Attack

Running charge attack in a straight line


Attacks do much more damage than most Uruks


Can deflect attacks

Explosive Arrow

Shoots arrows that explode on impact

Flaming Weapon

Weapon is on fire, increasing damage

Fury Attack

Highly aggressive melee attack


Can swing you around

Ground Pound

Slams the ground hard causing damage in a radius

Heavy Attack

High-damage melee attack, cannot be Countered


Tries to be the first to strike in combat

Inspiring Presence

Neaby Uruks are inspired to attack simultaneously

Jump Attack

Leaps far while striking


Multiple heavy attacks to the gut

Poison Cloud

Drops stunning cloud of poison if needed

Poison Weapon

Weapon inflicts a linger poison

Quick Shot

Shoots multiple shots in rapid succession

Quick Turn

Turns around quickly if struck from behind

Rapid Attack

Multiple attacks that must be individually countered

Savage Weapon

Weapon inflicts deep wounds that bleed over time


Attempts to back away from combat


Sometimes shows up unexpectedly


Calls nearby allies to join in the fight

Throat Grab

Picks up his enemy by the throat

Vault Breaker

Blocks attempts to jump over him

Wraith Stun Block

Blocks your Wraith Stun attacks from the front


Devastating shield slam and impale attack


When exposed to something the Uruk hates, they become enraged, making them much stronger.

Hate of Bodyguard Suffering

Becomes enraged when his Bodyguard is attacked

Hate of Burns

Becomes enraged when he burns

Hate of Caragors

Becomes enraged at the sight of Caragors

Hate of Defeat

Becomes enraged if his health is very low

Hate of Ghuls

Becomes enraged at the site of Ghuls

Hate of Graugs

Becomes enraged at the sight of Graugs

Hate of His Master Suffering

Becomes enraged when is Master is attacked

Hate of Morgai Flies

Becomes enraged when hit by Morgai Fly swarms


Uruks can be outright immune to certain forms of attack. Yes, high-level Uruks can even be immune to all three main attack forms-Combat Finishers, Ranged Attacks, and Stealth Finishers. To dispatch these rare Uruks, you must exploit one of their weaknesses.

Combat Master

Invulnerable to Combat attacks and Finishers

Invulnerable to Ranged

Cannot be damaged by your Ranged attacks

Invulnerable to Stealth

Cannot be damaged by Stealth Takedowns

Monster Slayer

Able to kill monsters quickly, and resistant to their attacks

Passive Abilities


Recovers Health from striking enemies


Averse to combat

Fast Runner

Runs much faster than most Uruks


Cannot be terrified, never flees

Gang Leader

Has a group of Followers


Refuses the killing blow for unworth victims

No Chance

Victims don’t get any Last Chance


Continually heals rapidly


Can smell out enemies who are hiding nearby


Can sense the presence of nearby enemies and hunt them down


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment
  • Platforms,
    PC, PS3, PS4, XB 360, XB One
  • Genre
    Action Adventure
  • Guide Release
    25 March 2015
  • Last Updated
    10 December 2020
  • Guide Author
    Nathan Garvin

Share this free guide:

Life can be dangerous in Middle-Earth, but for none moreso than the Rangers of The Black Gate, who guard the very border of Mordor. After tragedy strikes, Talion, Captain of The Black Gate rises as the Gravewalker, bound to a mysterious Elven Wraith. Talion will have to fight his way through an army of Uruks to reach the Black Captains as he seeks to find answers, vengeance, and a respite from his cursed afterlife.

The guide offers the following:

  • A walkthrough for all the main story missions.
  • Walkthroughs for every side mission, including Outcast Rescue missions, Legendary Weapon missions etc.
  • Integrated information detailing how to complete all the Hunting and Survival Challenges.
  • A full trophy/achievement guide.
  • Descriptions of the Nemesis System, including Strengths, Weaknesses, the different types of Uruks etc.
  • Information on all the Abilities and Attributes in the game.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: