Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title
Published Title Score Editor's Choice
Published Title Score

Start Location: The Chancellor at the Eternal Throne

Pro Tip!

The Spine

Head up to the northwestern path in the Spine and you will find a door. From here, turn around and look to the left to find a Relic of Etu-Goth. Go into the door and follow the wall around to the right as you enter. Destroy the crates here for a Boatman’s Coin. Go to the central part of the northern wall of the room and use the blocks here to climb up and death grip across to a platform up on the other side of the room.

Before hitting the switch, look to the right and shoot the crystal here for a stone of Power. Push the switch in and watch the scene. Drop down and climb up the newly revealed blocks and death grip across to another raised platform on the room’s east. Pull the lever here to have those second set of blocks remain there permanently. Continue through the door on the left. Follow the hallway to the end and through two doors to find yourself in the Soul Arbiter’s Maze.

Soul Arbiter’s Maze

Move forward to pick up the Soul Arbiter’s Scroll . Return down the stairs and interact with the Mysterious book here to read the rules for the maze and then run up the stairs again to see that there is now a portal on the ground. Hit that to enter.

The Soul Arbiter’s Maze consists of a series of rooms that force players into confrontations with an assortment of enemy types which increase in difficulty the further you proceed. The only way to navigate the maze safely is by finding those pesky Soul Arbiter’s Scrolls and Soul Arbiter’s Sacred Seals that have been hidden across the Nether realms. There are 20 of these to find and if you wish to solve the maze for yourself, you will need to get them all! (You can check out the locations in the collectables part of our guide).

Each room has four exits adorned by the designations N, S, E and W and the directions given to us by the Soul Arbiter direction scrolls give us the path through the maze we require to reach the end.

The maze consists of 10 floors, each of which has two correct paths. One of the paths will lead to a secret area containing treasure and the other will lead to a stairway that descends to a portal allowing access to the next level of the maze.

For your convenience, I have listed the two correct paths through each floor as listed on the scrolls along with notations of importance.

Level 1: Declination Secret S,E (Find a chest and a portal to floor 1 start) Normal N,W Level 2: Apprehension Secret N,N (Find a chest and a portal to floor 2 start) Normal E,S,N Level 3: Opposition Secret N,S,E (Find a chest and a portal to floor 3 start) Normal W,E,N,N Level 4: Separation Secret W,E,N (Find a chest and a portal to floor 4 start) Normal E,W,N,S Level 5: Deception Secret W,N,S (Find legendary weapon: Black Demise & a portal to floor 5 start) Normal W,W,N,E Level 6: Isolation Secret E,E,E,S (Find a chest and a portal to floor 6 start) Normal S,E,E,N,N Level 7: Revusion Secret S,S,W,N,N (Find a chest and a portal to floor 7 start) Normal S,W,E,E,E

After finishing the 7th floor, be sure to keep your eye out for a shootable Mystic Stone for Blackroot. You will find it in the room at the bottom of the stairs above the portal leading to the 8th floor.

$$$item 1521

Video 966 couldn’t be loaded from database.

You will be awarded with two legendary items - Executioner’s Hooks and The Crown of the Dead for your victory. Check out the door on the right and go down the stairs for a chest. Return to the arena and use the portal in the room to the north to exit. Return to the Eternal Throne and talk to the Chancellor to complete the quest

Trophy/Achievement Icon

I've Brought You A Gift

Defeat the Soul Arbiter

Trophy icon
No Comments
Guide Information
  • Publisher
  • Platforms,
    PC, PS3, PS4, Wii U, XB 360, XB One
  • Genre
    Action RPG, Hack-n-slash
  • Guide Release
    29 September 2012
  • Last Updated
    7 December 2020
  • Guide Author
    Paul Williams

Share this free guide:

What starts with War, ends in Death. Awakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen, embarks upon a quest to restore mankind, and redeem his brother’s name. Along the way, the Horseman discovers that there are far worse things than an earthly Apocalypse, and that an ancient grudge may threaten all of Creation.

  • All story missions.
  • All Side-Quests.
  • Location of every Boatman Coin.
  • Location of every Book of the Dead Page.
  • Location of every Sacred Stone.
  • Where to find all of the Lost Relics.
  • Every Soul Arbiter Scroll discovered.
  • Where to find all of the secret Gnome’s.
  • How to pick up every Legendary Weapon!
  • List of every single Achievement/Trophy in the game.
  • ‘Argul’s Tomb’ DLC, ‘The Abyssal Forge’ DLC and ‘The Demon Lord Belial’ DLC missions covered in full.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: